Skip navigation

Greetings, Bearers!

Confession time here: I hate politics.

That’s not to say that I don’t have any political views.  On the contrary, I have some very strong views on several matters, some of which cannot be classified as either “conservative” or “liberal” in a strict sense of the word.  But this time of the year leaves a bad taste in my mouth, and I’m happy to say that, regardless of the outcome, I’ll be glad when this is all done and over with.

Most of you know what I’m talking about.  You get bombarded with ads that either prop up a particular candidate or shoot down another candidate, often using half-truths and quotes taken out of context.  You get warned that the entire nation will go to hell in a handbasket if candidate “x” is (or isn’t) elected.  You’re about to sit to a nice, quiet dinner when the phone rings, and the caller ID registers an unfamiliar number that could only be a telemarketer making a sales pitch for his or her political candidate.  You break out into nasty arguments with people you otherwise deem as friends because they (or maybe even you) have an evangelical fervor to spread the gospel about a particular candidate or ballot proposal, and certainly nobody on the other side of the issue is right (I myself have been guilty of this sort of blind partisanship in the past).  And despite this bickering, nobody’s mind is changed.

Or, worst of all, you have those who believe “My candidate/party, right or wrong.”  Way too many people on both sides of the aisle with this mentality.

So I hate this time of year.  But regardless of the outcome between (as F. Paul Wilson put it) “tweedledumb and tweedledumber” (I’ll let you choose which is which), I rejoice in the future.  As a Christian, I believe in the sovereignty of God.  I believe that no matter what happens, God is still on the throne, and that He preserves His people, whether in plenty or in persecution.  My faith is not in a politician, or a party platform.  It is in God, who preserves, and Christ, who saves.

Obama may win.  Romney may win.  But regardless of who wins, God is over both, and nothing will happen that God does not sovereignly foreordain.  Whoever the president may be, he will still be under God (whether or not he wants to admit it), and will answer to God in judgment one day.  If Judas Iscariot and Satan can be used in the plan of God, certainly a president is more than qualified!  (Think about that one for a minute… ;) )

Plus-and this is a big comfort-I and all other believers trusting in the finished work of Christ on the cross for my salvation know that this world, this age, is not permanent.  One day, Jesus Christ will return, and this will all be done away with, in exchange for new heavens and a new earth.  No more political squabbles, no more bad legislation, no more politics as an excuse to take power and money from others-it will all be swept away, along with all sin, death, disease, and other things.  We who believe will be resurrected to eternal life, so even if we die tomorrow, we will see eternal glory on the Final Day.

So, in the long run, all of this is a petty inconvenience compared to what awaits me, and all who come to Christ in saving faith.  My faith is not in politicians or in politics, but in God who governs the affairs of men, even those who deny Him.

To quote an old martial arts master: “I do not fear you, nor do I fear what you think you can do to me.”  :D

So, while we should get out and vote (and I plan to), we realize that there is more to life than politics.  And I for one will be glad when life gets back to normal on November 7th.

And in closing, let me say this: if your candidate wins, congratulations.  But understand two things: 1.) Your candidate will not solve every issue he/she has been elected to deal with, and 2.) Your candidate WILL do something wrong in office.  Have the intellectual honesty to call him or her on the carpet for it.  Don’t be a blind partisan defender just because it’s “your” candidate.  That leaves a bad taste in the mouths of real thinking people.

Alright, let the voting begin!

See you in the Vein!

J. Dean

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

