Skip navigation

Greetings, Bearers!

Amazingly, I’ve found time to read as well as write!  I wanted to take a moment to share with you the literature I’m spending my time with for entertainment and education-yes, education.  Believe it or not, the two best ways for a writer to improve are to read and write.  When you read other people’s works, you can get a fresh take on writing for yourself, and that’s a good thing to do when you’re trying to create your own novels!

I’m about halfway through Joe Hill’s book Heart Shaped Box, which is very well-written, and is holding my attention well.  I’m generally not one for ghost stories, but Joe has a literary style that flows well and moves well, especially for those who don’t like to read authors who saturate their stories with over-detail, like Joe’s more famous father (hint: think Carrie 😀 ).  While such detail isn’t an issue for me, it is for people like my better half; she likes her stories short and to the point.  In either case, I plan to write a review of Joe’s novel on Amazon.com when I finish, which will hopefully be in the next week or so.

The second work I’m pushing through is a magnum opus: a collection of Ray Bradbury’s short stories.  Those of you who have been following me know that I put Bradbury up there as a must-read.  He has such a great sense of flow with unorthodox word pictures and injects a beautiful whimsical flavor into his works.  Last night I read “Almost the End of the World,” a short story about a world in which people panic because-GASP!-televisions and radios no longer work!  What’s best about that story is that I know people personally (as Mr. Bradbury does too, I’m sure) who would actually react in such a way if electronic entertainment were to vanish from existence.  Better to starve them than shut off their satellites.

So back to the grind for me, writing and reading, and another thank you to all of the new-found readers of my works for taking the chance and purchasing my novels and short stories!  Enjoy them and let me know what you think!

See you in the Vein!
J. Dean

Leave a Reply

