Skip navigation

Greetings, Bearers!

Before getting to the business of stories and writing, I just had to give a shout out to my Michigan Wolverines. Last night, they shot down the Michigan State Spartans in a good game, and although basketball’s not my thing, you give credit where credit is due. Go Blue!!!

Now, on to writing and reading. I”m still plugging away at Joe Hill’s Heart Shaped box, and although I’m not ready to put up a full review, I can say for a fact that I’d definitely recommend this book for a great example of good horror writing. So, if you’re not willing to wait for the full review, go ahead and take a chance on the book. I give the guy two thumbs up for writing a novel scary enough for preventing me from reading it just before bedtime.

As for my own writing, I’m plugging away at my short story-which is starting to look more like a novella now, a bad habit of mine-and pushing through The Summoning of Kran. I’m also working on getting another cover for The Summoning of Clade Josso and The Summoning of Old Velt. When you don’t have the talent to design a good cover, you have to fess up to it, and I’m guilty as charged for being inept at designing good covers for novels. Short stories are one thing: you can get away with something a little less formal in design. But for the novel, you need an attractive cover, and as much as I maintain that novels should not be judged by their covers, it happens nevertheless. Sooooooo…. time for me to get with it.

Well, back to work. In the meantime, keep reading, and again I put out a hearty “thank you” for all who have purchased my books and short stories this month! Enjoy!

See you in the Vein!

J. Dean

Leave a Reply

