Skip navigation

Greetings, Bearers!

Good things come even out of the worst situations, and something has happened in light of my computer crash: I’m going in the direction of non-fiction for writing now.

Now, don’t freak out, you who love the horror, sci-fi, and fantasy; I’m still going to be working on the Vein at night, and short stories will be occupying more weekend slots for me.  I’ll always have an affinity for writing fiction, and the Vein epic is just too much fun to write.  But after my computer crash and loss of some of my works (which may have been for the better anyway), the idea crossed my mind to write a non-fiction book, one that deals with a topic I’m familiar with-education.  Good timing, too, considering the political mess that’s in Madison, Wisconsin right now.  What I’ll be writing about won’t be political, per se, although it might touch on politics here and there. 

Funny enough-writing non-fiction seems to come easier to me, although it’s not nearly as enjoyable.  Not that I don’t like it at all, mind you-writing is fun, no matter what.  But writing non-fiction can be a bit more restrictive with regard to use of the imagination.  After all, non-fiction needs to deal with the facts and the truth, and “embellishing” the truth due to an overactive imagination tends to make the truth something other than the truth. 

Not a good thing.

So, more works are a-comin’ in the future: fiction and non-fiction.  Hang tight.  And for those of you who have offered to review my works, I tip my hat to you and thank you!

See you in the Vein!

J. Dean

Leave a Reply

