Skip navigation

Greetings, Bearers and others who have come here,

Today’s post is about something that’s a bit off topic for me, as it’s not about my writing.  But it deals with something far more important, and it needs to be brought up, as it brings embarrassment to me and others like me. I want to depart from my normal format for a moment and talk about this May 21st thing.

I am a Christian, and while I don’t shove it down anybody’s throat when it’s not wanted, I don’t hide it either, and am more than willing to talk about it with anybody interested in talking about it.  I believe in salvation by grace alone, through faith alone, because of Christ alone.  His perfect life and death on the cross pays for the sins of those who believe on Him and trust in Him for salvation, and He covers them with Jesus’ righteousness, making them acceptable before God and granting them eternal life.  

That being said, this whole thing about Harold Camping and May 21st is flat out embarrassing.  Camping is doing what Jesus tells us not to do in Matthew 24 and Acts 1: predicting Christ’s return.  This is foolish.  It makes Camping look foolish, and gives the unbelieving world more fodder for anti-Christian sentiment. 

Hal Lindsay did this more than two decades ago with his book The Late Great Planet Earth.  His prediction of Christ’s return ended up making himself look foolish, and only gave critics of the Bible another reason to badmouth Christians.  Camping, either ignorant of Lindsay’s prediction or unwilling to learn from its failure (or learn from his own failed 1994 prediction),  has trod down the same path. 

So let me say this to you if you are not a Christian and are reading this.  Harold Camping and his fringe ideas do not represent the beliefs of biblical Christianity.  Please talk to somebody a little more knowledgable and wise about the Christian faith if you have questions or just want to know what it’s all about.  I’ll be happy to provide you with any links or references if you’d like.

Okay, time for me to step down from the pulpit.  Thank you for indulging me.  Back to work now!

J. Dean

Leave a Reply

