Skip navigation

Greetings, Bearers!

Well, it’s back to school for us.  I’m getting into the groove of teaching again, but I’ve got the added bonus of a student teacher who is going to be taking over for me in a couple of weeks.  Meaning I’ll get a little more time to concentrate on writing!  😀

The more I write, the more I learn about myself.  I’m learning that it’s getting harder and harder for me to write with any sort of background noise going on.  Granted, I’ve always been the type of person who works better when he’s in a quiet environment (and I’m a teacher: anybody else see irony here?).  Having said that, though, I’m finding that even a television on in the other room can become a distraction to me, and it makes me start writing things like “when I turned the corner, and Thomas Magnum said to me…”

If you’re old enough and wry enough, you’ll get that reference.  You’ll also figure out what my wife likes to watch when she’s at home. 

But don’t worry, I won’t turn into Jack Nicholson a la The Shining and go chasing the family around with an axe.  I’m more patient than that.  Besides… it’s more fun to chase them around with water balloons.

Before I sign off for the day, let me extend a hearty welcome to the newcomers who have purchased recent copies of Clade Josso and Old Velt.  Welcome to the family of Vein fans, and feel free to contact me any time!

And remember: All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.

So don’t go running around in empty hotels.

See you in the Vein!

J. Dean

Leave a Reply

