Skip navigation

Greetings, Bearers!

And to this entry I add a hearty “WHEW!” By this time tomorrow, I’ll have my last short story for Alternate Endings finished. After that, it’s just a matter of going back through the works and smoothing out the rough edges, formating the collection so that it looks like an honest-to-goodness professional author was involved in the process ( 😀 ), then getting my cover art in order, and my first short story collection will be ready for purchase!

Thinking about it, it’s been both fun and tedious to put this one together. On the one hand, it’s a good exercise for me (and good entertainment for you) to write short stories, as it presents a diverse platter of selections for you to peruse and enjoy. On the other hand, as I’ve said before, my short stories at times tend to get longer than originally planned, and almost end up being novellas (I’ve got two of them in this collection. Hey, Stephen King, if you read this, tell me how you prevent this from happening!).

Next week, I’ll send you more details as to the contents of the collection. For now, it’s time to tidy up one last story and get it ready for inclusion.

In the meantime, I’ve also put together a review of Peter Straub’s book A DARK MATTER, which I posted on Amazon.com a couple of days ago, but for some reason has not shown up on their website. When it comes up, I’ll let you know.

So, in the meantime, I’ll polish up my new creation, keep pressing forward on the Summoning of Kran, and do all of this with an I.V. of coffee needled into my arm!

See you in the Vein!
J. Dean

Leave a Reply

