Skip navigation

Greetings, Bearers!

As you can see, I’ve put another rendering of the cover, again courtesy of Sanjana and her incredible talent.  This one is much bigger, and has some very nice detail done to it.  She’s doing quite the number with the cover, and the more I see of it, the more excited I am about the finished product!

In lieu of Ray Bradbury’s passing this week, I have to give him indirect credit for this cover.  The face of the conductor was based upon the image of Johnathan Pryce, who played Mr. Dark in the Disney film adaptation of Mr. Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes (if you’ve never read the book or seen the movie, you really ought to!).  Mr. Pryce did a very good job of bringing Bradbury’s villain to life onscreen, and although my cover character is not Mr. Dark himself, he does share some unsettling qualities with the leader of the Dark Carnival.  So Mr. Bradbury has influenced me in more ways than one!

On another good note, The Summoning of Kran has taken an unexpected direction.  I should have it finished and ready for editing within the next few weeks (No!  Really!  Don’t laugh!  I’m serious this time!), but I’m going to try something a little different.  Along with the release of the third novel, I’ll be sending out a little “backstory” short story that was initially intended to be part of the novel, but after some reading, re-reading, and thought, I decided it would be better served as a separate companion piece for the third novel.  More detail will come with that later.

And yes… I know I said I was going to do another entry from the Vein omnibus in May, and I didn’t.  That’s completely my fault.  For that, I intend to put up two entries in June.  I apologize sincerely for that, and hope to get back on track with the details about the Vein.  I’ve had to divide my time with yet another interference in life (no, I don’t mean my mother-love ya, mom! 😉 ),so it’s chipped into my time and energy.  That being said, I have been very careful to not allow it to completely interfere with my work.  I won’t let it.  Otherwise, I’ll end up acting like Animal from the Muppets, and nobody wants to see that.

Oh, one other thing: if any of you get a chance to see the movie Prometheus, please feel free to message me and let me know what you thought of it!  I’m hoping to see this one in the next few days or so, assuming all goes well with scheduling.  But I don’t mind anybody giving it a thumbs up (or even a thumbs down on occasion) in advance.

So enjoy the updated cover, and thank you for bearing with me on getting things done!

See you in the Vein!

J. Dean

Leave a Reply

