Skip navigation

Greetings, Bearers!

In between writing sessions, I wanted to take a little bit of time and explain to people about one of the things I do when I write, specifically with regard to the music I choose during the writing process.  During my conversations with other writers, we’ll occassionally discuss the music that we like to listen to while writing, and the responses are as diverse as the people posting them.  You’ll get a great many who will take any and every sort of music they can get their hands upon while writing, and you’ll also find people on the opposite end of the spectrum who prefer absolute silence while writing.

Myself, I prefer to write while listening to Motion Picture Soundtrack scores (MPS), and I’d like to take a little bit of space and time here to explain why.

One of the biggest reasons why I love to use MPSs as a backdrop for my writing is because of the entire structure and purpose of such compositions.  The score composer for an MPS is putting together a piece of music that is intended to evoke a specific atmosphere that is meant to accompany a visual scene.  Thus, the music is meant to specifically take the listener somewhere, to put him/her in the midst of the movie, to assist in the experience as the story unfolds.  As a result, specific scores can be really helpful for me in putting my mind in the mood to write.

For example, two of my favorite MPSs to use while writing the Vein novels are the Sountrack to the Movie Thor and the Soundtrack to the movie Friday Night Lights.   Thor is used because of the large and majestic themes associated with the epic storyline, thus helping to evoke such a setting in my own imagination.  With the Friday Night Lights soundtrack, the music carries a vast, open feel to it, stretching far and wide, and puts the listener in a realm far larger than himself, one that begs to be explored and experienced.

The process is also used in my writing of short stories, although for those I refer to other soundtracks such as Michael Giacchino’s Lost soundtrack or John Murphy’s score for the movie Sunshine, both of which carry a more eerie, horrifying feel at times, which is quite fitting since a number of my short stories lean in the direction of horror.  As such, it makes it far easier for me to allow my mind to work in the desired literary direction, and consequently assists in allowing the story to flow from my head to the keyboard.

Anyway, that’s just a quick explanation behind my writing style and process.  Hope you enjoyed it!  I’ll be putting out a few more here and there in between writing sessions, and will also be putting up some (hopefully) good news soon regarding some of my works.

And again, as always, a hearty thank you to those who have purchased any of my works as of late!  I hope you enjoy them, and hope to hear from you about what you think concerning them!

 

See you in the Vein!

J. Dean

Leave a Reply

