Skip navigation

Greetings, Bearers!

Contrary to assumed belief, no I have not been in a sugar-induced coma for the past week and a half 😀  Although I have enjoyed my fair share of real licorice, thanks to my mother-in-law.  The truth is, it’s been a bit harder to find the time to write the fiction for two reasons.  The first is that, oddly enough, vacation can be the most difficult time to write.  All these people living in my house want my attention (Did you know that children have to be fed on a regular basis?).  While I have more time in one sense, I have less in another.  Mind you, it’s not necessarily a complaint; just an observation.  Usually in the summer, when I’m not teaching, I reorganize my time a bit better and get consistent time put into writing.   But one week off with a planned itinerary (yes, I get the “honey-do” lists as well, and I also fall asleep on the couch too 🙂  ) doesn’t permit for good adjustment.

The second reason is that I actually did get a chance to write… but not to write fiction.  I was tackling a theological topic, one that hits home for me as I was personally involved in the particular matter.  Believe it or not, it’s actually easier (although not more enjoyable) for me to write non-fiction.  I can put out four pages in an hour when I’m writing about the concrete, compared with the much slower pace of two an hour with fiction.  What I ended up putting together was a twenty-page thesis that I might link up in the near future for your consideration (Right now somebody else is reading through it.  If he likes it and decides to put it up for public consumption, I’ll link to it).  It’s something important to me as a Christian, and I had to take the time to put it out there.  As I said, perhaps I’ll put it up for reading in the near future.

Anyway, I’m back to writing.  One of my double-feature short stories is nearly edited, and I’m trying to finish up the second short story, as well as continue editing The Summoning of Kran, shopping around for cover art on this third Vein novel, and writing The Summoning of Bherta as well (Who says writers don’t work?).  I plan to get another entry in the Vein Compendium done in the next week or two and will put it up for your enjoyment, so be looking for that as well.

And once again, a shout out to the new Bearers who have decided to check out the Vein series!  Thank you again for purchasing my books, and feel free to let us know what you think of them!

Okay…. back to my sugar coma.

See you in the Vein!
J. Dean

Leave a Reply

